Crypto Saudi Arabia · Independent resource · not financial advice
BTC — SARETH — SARUSDT — SARPI — SARDOGE — SARXRP — SARSOL — SAR
Home
Buy
Exchanges
Coins
Wallets & apps
Guides
Cities
Create a free account

Global platform operating since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK). Check availability in your country before signing up.

العربيةEnglish
  1. Home
  2. Best exchanges
  3. OKX in KSA
Exchange review

OKX in Saudi Arabia: riyals, low fees and a wallet you control

OKX pairs a SAR P2P market with the lowest base spot fees of the big three and a self-custody Web3 wallet inside the same app. It lists Pi, which Binance and Bybit do not. It holds no Saudi licence, and which OKX entity serves you is not stated.

Smartphone showing a Bitcoin trading app, representing OKX used from Saudi Arabia Web3 wallet
P2P purchase estimateLive rate
﷼SAR
265.33
1 USDT ≈ 3.75 SAR

after an estimated 0.50% fee. Figures are estimates and move with the market. Source: CoinGecko.

Prefer a card-funded purchase?

A card-first exchange charges Saudi Visa, Mastercard or Apple Pay in USD in minutes, with published fee ranges and a 20 USD minimum.

Create a free account Visit official site
  • Operating since 2013
  • FinCEN-registered
  • FCA-registered (UK)
  • Card purchase in minutes

Check availability in your country before signing up.

Crypto Saudi Arabia editorial team Data last checked: October 2026 ~13 min read

OKX is the exchange people in Riyadh move to once they want more than a place to buy USDT: lower spot fees than Binance or Bybit, a self-custodySelf-custodyHolding your own private keys (seed phrase) so that no exchange controls the coins. Nobody can freeze them, and nobody can recover them for you either. wallet built into the same app, and a listing for Pi that the two bigger names never added. Riyals come in through P2PP2PPeer-to-peer: you buy directly from another user on the exchange, which holds the coins in escrow until the seller confirms your bank or wallet transfer. like everywhere else. What OKX does not offer is clarity about which of its legal entities you contract with from Saudi Arabia, and that gap shapes this review as much as the fees do.

We checked OKX's risk disclosure, its Middle East terms, its fee and wallet pages and the Saudi regulators' statements in October 2026. Where a figure comes from user test reports rather than an OKX page, we say so.

Who OKX suits in Saudi Arabia

Three groups fit OKX best. First, active traders who notice the difference between 0.10% and 0.08% because they trade often; at the base tier OKX is the cheapest of the big three on spot. Second, people who want to buy on an exchange and then hold coins in a wallet they control without installing a second app: the OKX Web3 wallet lives next to the exchange tab, and moving USDT or BTC from one to the other is a normal withdrawal. Third, the Pi Network community, because OKX listed Pi on the day the Open Network launched and lets you trade mainnet Pi rather than an IOU.

It fits less well if you want a licensed Gulf entity behind your account, a published SAR fee schedule or a Sharia account mode. For the first two, CoinMENA publishes official SAR deposit and withdrawal fees under Bahrain and Dubai licences; for the third, Bybit's Islamic Account is the only option among the large exchanges. And if you simply want to tap a card and be done, a card-first platform with a published fee range is less fiddly than OKX's third-party processors.

Availability and which entity you deal with

OKX publishes its restricted jurisdictions in a Risk and Compliance Disclosure. The version dated 8 July 2026 names Afghanistan, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iran, India, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, North Korea, Syria, the Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk regions, parts of the United States and its territories, and Uzbekistan. P2P specifically is restricted in Brazil, Eritrea, South Korea and the United Kingdom. Saudi Arabia appears on neither list. That is the strongest availability statement any of the big three makes, because it comes from a dated OKX document rather than a help-centre snippet.

The entity question is murkier. OKX Middle East Fintech FZE is licensed by Dubai's Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA licence VL/23/12/003), and its terms of service, updated in October 2026, govern UAE customers. Those terms do not mention Saudi Arabia. Whether a Saudi resident contracts with the Dubai entity or with OKX's global entity is not stated anywhere we could find, so the honest position is this: a VARA licence exists in the group, but you cannot assume it covers your account. OKX executives have courted the Kingdom publicly, including at LEAP in Riyadh in 2023, but OKX holds no Saudi licence, and neither does any other exchange; the Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) and the Capital Market Authority (CMA) have licensed no crypto platform, and the 2018 Standing Committee statement that nobody is licensed to deal in virtual currencies still stands. Our legal guide goes through what that means in practice.

Getting riyals in: the SAR P2P market

OKX has no SAR wallet, no SARIESARIEThe Saudi instant interbank transfer system used by every local bank for riyal payments. deposit and no mada rail. Riyals enter through P2P: pick an ad selling USDT for SAR, OKX locks the seller's coins in escrowEscrowCoins held by the exchange during a P2P trade and released to the buyer only after the seller confirms payment., you pay from your own bank app or wallet, mark the order paid, and the seller releases. User test reports list bank transfer and stc pay as the methods on SAR ads. OKX itself publishes no Saudi method list, so open the SAR market and filter by method before relying on a particular bank. Expect fewer ads than on Binance; for a 1,000 SAR order that rarely matters, for 50,000 SAR it does.

The card route exists but is unreliable from Saudi Arabia. OKX's one-click buy runs through third-party processors; in user tests one processor declined a Saudi-issued card while another accepted it, mada debit cards were rejected, and Apple Pay worked where mada did not. If a card fails, switch processor or try Apple Pay before giving up, and budget a surcharge of roughly 2–4% on top of the quoted price. The usual P2P rules apply: pay only from an account in your own name that matches your OKX profile, keep the transfer memo neutral, and never release before the money is in your account. The P2P guide covers the scams aimed at Saudi buyers.

P2P premium calculator

﷼SAR
₮USDT
Premium over the 3.75 peg—
What you overpay—
Effective USD rate—
You receive—

The riyal has been pegged at 3.75 per US dollar since 1986. Anything above that is the cost of the route, not of the coin.

Fees and limits you will actually see

At the base tier OKX charges 0.08% maker and 0.10% taker on spot, according to fee comparisons rather than an OKX fee page we could render; the official fee page is in our sources for you to confirm your own tier. That is marginally cheaper than Binance and Bybit's flat 0.1%, and the gap widens at higher volume tiers. P2P carries no OKX fee for either side, so the seller's premium over the 3.75 peg is the real cost; it is usually a small margin that moves with demand, and comparing three ads tells you more than any published number. Withdrawal fees depend on the network; USDT on TRC-20 is the cheapest common route, and sending to the OKX Web3 wallet is an ordinary on-chain withdrawal with the same fee.

SAR rails
P2P only; no SAR wallet, SARIE or mada deposit
SAR P2P methods (user reports)
Bank transfer, stc pay; no official Saudi list published
Spot fee
0.08% maker / 0.10% taker at base tier (secondary source)
P2P fee
0%; seller premium is the real cost
Card / Apple Pay
Third-party processors, roughly +2–4%; mada often declined
Restricted list
Saudi Arabia not named (disclosure dated 8 Jul 2026)
Entity for Saudi users
Not stated; OKX Middle East Fintech FZE (Dubai VARA) terms cover the UAE
Pi Network
Listed as PI (not labelled an IOU) since the Open Network launch

P2P limits are set per ad by the advertiser. Account withdrawal limits depend on verification level, and OKX did not publish Saudi-specific figures on the pages we reached. KYCKYCKnow Your Customer: the identity check (ID document, selfie, sometimes proof of address) an exchange runs before it lets you trade or withdraw. requires a government ID and selfie; whether an Iqama alone passes is not documented, so expats should keep a passport ready.

Prefer a card and no P2P chat?A card-first exchange charges a Saudi Visa or Mastercard in dollars at a published fee range and delivers in minutes.

Create an account

The Web3 wallet, and why Pi is here

The OKX Web3 wallet is the feature that separates OKX from a plain exchange. It is a self-custody wallet inside the OKX app and browser extension: you generate a seed phraseSeed phraseThe 12 or 24 words that control a self-custody wallet. Anyone who has them owns the coins; lose them and nobody can recover the wallet., OKX never holds it, and the wallet can swap, stake and connect to decentralised apps across many networks. Think of it as Trust Wallet or MetaMask living next to your exchange balance. For a Saudi user the practical value is simple: buy USDT with riyals on P2P, withdraw to the Web3 wallet, and the coins are no longer on an exchange that can freeze or be hacked. The flip side is total responsibility: write the seed phrase on paper, never in a screenshot, and never type it into any website. Our wallets hub compares it with hardware options sold in the Kingdom.

Pi is the other reason Saudi readers land here. OKX listed PI when the Pi Open Network launched on 20 February 2025, and lists it as a regular token rather than an IOU. Before you plan to move coins to a Pi wallet, check OKX's deposit and withdrawal page for PI; we have not confirmed withdrawals to the Pi network. Binance and Bybit have not listed Pi; CEX.IO trades it as an IOU that cannot be withdrawn. If you hold mined Pi from the app, OKX is also one of the venues where you can sell it for USDT and then for riyals via P2P. Our Pi Coin guide covers the KYC queue, the IOU distinction and the scams that target Pi holders.

Three-dimensional fintech wallet icon representing the self-custody OKX Web3 wallet
Exchange balance versus Web3 wallet: the first is an IOU from OKX, the second is coins you control with a seed phrase. Move long-term holdings to the second.

Opening an account from Saudi Arabia

  1. Register and secure the account

    Email or phone, then enable two-factor authentication and set a withdrawal whitelist before you fund anything.

  2. Verify your identity

    Government ID plus selfie. Saudi national ID or passport is the safe choice; Iqama-only verification is not documented, so expats should keep the passport ready.

  3. Add a payment method and open the SAR market

    Enter your bank account or stc pay in exactly the name on your ID. Filter USDT/SAR ads by that method and pick a seller with a high order count and completion rate.

  4. Pay from your own account and mark as paid

    Send the exact amount with a neutral memo, tap "Paid", and wait for the seller to release. As the buyer you never release anything.

  5. Trade on spot if you want BTC, ETH or Pi

    Convert USDT to the coin you want at 0.08%–0.10%. Use limit orders for anything illiquid, including PI, to avoid slippage.

  6. Move holdings to the Web3 wallet or a hardware wallet

    Create the Web3 wallet, back up the seed phrase on paper, and withdraw long-term holdings there. Check the network before every transfer.

OKX vs CEX.IO and Rain

Against CEX.IO the split is riyals and self-custody versus simplicity. CEX.IO takes no SAR but charges a Saudi card or Apple Pay in dollars at a published 0.49%–4.99% plus service charge with no P2P chat; it trades Pi only as an IOU, where OKX lists PI as a regular token. OKX takes riyals through P2P at near-zero platform fee and adds a wallet you control, but you do the counterparty work and the card route is hit-and-miss. Against Rain, Rain's Central Bank of Bahrain category-3 licence is a clearer regulatory position than OKX's unstated entity, but Rain's own pages do not document SAR deposits for Saudi residents, so for riyal funding OKX's P2P market is the proven route and Rain is the one to confirm in-app. The full comparison ranks all eight.

What stands out
  • Saudi Arabia not named on OKX's restricted list in a dated disclosure (8 Jul 2026)
  • Lowest base spot fees of the big three: 0.08% maker / 0.10% taker (secondary source)
  • SAR P2P market with bank transfer and stc pay on ads (user reports); no OKX fee on P2P
  • Self-custody Web3 wallet inside the same app, seed phrase held by you
  • Mainnet Pi listed since the Open Network launch; Binance and Bybit do not list it
  • Dubai VARA licence exists in the group (OKX Middle East Fintech FZE)
What is missing
  • No Saudi licence; which OKX entity serves Saudi users is not stated, so the VARA licence cannot be assumed to apply
  • SAR payment methods not published on an OKX page; shallower P2P book than Binance
  • No SAR wallet, SARIE or mada deposit
  • Card processors declined a Saudi card and mada in tests; Apple Pay more reliable, with a 2–4% surcharge
  • Iqama-only KYC not documented
  • No Sharia account mode; self-custody wallet means no recovery if you lose the seed phrase

Verdict

7.5/10
Our score: The best-value exchange for Saudis who plan to hold their own keys

If you trade more than occasionally, want Pi that is not an IOU, or like the idea of buying with riyals and withdrawing into a wallet you control without a second app, OKX is the strongest of the big three on features and fees. It scores below Binance because its SAR P2P book is thinner and its methods rest on user reports, and below the Gulf-licensed platforms because it does not say which entity stands behind a Saudi account.

Prices move while a P2P order is open, an exchange balance is not a bank deposit, and a self-custody wallet has no password reset, so size your first purchase accordingly. If you would rather skip P2P, a card-funded purchase in dollars takes minutes; if you need an official SAR bank deposit under a Gulf licence, start with CoinMENA.

Frequently asked questions

Is OKX available in Saudi Arabia?

Saudi Arabia is not on OKX's restricted-jurisdictions list in its Risk and Compliance Disclosure (version dated 8 July 2026), which names Afghanistan, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iran, India, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, North Korea, Syria, occupied regions of Ukraine, parts of the USA and Uzbekistan. OKX holds no Saudi licence, like every exchange, so the account is unregulated from a Saudi point of view.

Which OKX entity serves Saudi users?

OKX does not say. OKX Middle East Fintech FZE holds a Dubai VARA licence (VL/23/12/003), but its terms of service cover UAE residents and do not mention Saudi Arabia. Whether Saudi accounts sit with the global entity or the Dubai one is not confirmed on OKX's pages, so do not assume the VARA licence protects you.

How do I deposit riyals on OKX?

Through P2P: a seller advertises USDT for SAR, you pay from your own bank or stc pay and OKX releases the coins from escrow. User test reports list bank transfer and stc pay as the methods on SAR ads; OKX publishes no official Saudi method list. Cards and Apple Pay work through third-party processors, where one processor declined a Saudi card and another accepted it in tests.

What are OKX's trading fees?

Spot fees at the base tier are 0.08% maker and 0.10% taker, slightly below Binance and Bybit's 0.1%, according to fee comparisons rather than an OKX page we could render. P2P carries no OKX fee; the seller's premium over 3.75 SAR is the real cost. Card purchases via processors add a surcharge on top.

Can I buy Pi Coin on OKX from Saudi Arabia?

Yes, OKX was among the first exchanges to list Pi when the Pi Open Network launched on 20 February 2025, alongside Bitget, Gate and MEXC. Binance and Bybit do not list it. You can buy USDT with riyals on OKX P2P and trade it for PI on spot. Our Pi Coin guide explains mainnet Pi versus the IOU that CEX.IO trades.

What is the OKX Web3 wallet and do I need it?

It is a self-custody wallet built into the OKX app and browser extension: you hold the seed phrase, OKX does not, and you can swap, stake and use decentralised apps across many chains. It is separate from your exchange account. Useful if you want to move coins off the exchange without a second app, but you take full responsibility for the seed phrase.

Sources and references

  1. OKX — Risk and Compliance Disclosure (restricted jurisdictions, updated 8 Jul 2026)
  2. OKX — OKX Middle East Fintech FZE terms of service (Dubai VARA)
  3. OKX — official site
  4. OKX — fee schedule
  5. OKX — Web3 wallet
  6. FinTech Futures — OKX's Lennix Lai at LEAP, Riyadh (Feb 2023)
  7. Capital Market Authority — Standing Committee statement on virtual currencies (2018)
  8. Saudi Central Bank — warning on virtual currencies (12 Aug 2018)

Ready for your first coin?

Sign-up and the ID check take a few minutes. Then buy Bitcoin, USDT or Pi with a Visa or Mastercard, or with Apple Pay.

Global platform operating since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK). Check availability in your country before signing up.
Create a free account

Related pages

Card purchase in minutes Get started